Malaysian Grand Prix – Lotus F1 Team History

In the beginning…

Lotus F1 Team entered the inaugural Malaysian Grand Prix in 1999 under the Benetton name, with Austrian Alexander Wurz and Italian Giancarlo Fisichella at the wheel

Winning Ways

In its various guises the team has taken 2 wins in Malaysia, with Fernando Alonso (Renault, 2005) and Giancarlo Fisichella (Renault, 2006)

Podium Potential

The team has also achieved 10 podiums at the Kuala Lumpur venue, the first in 2003 (Fernando Alonso, Renault) and the most recent in 2011 (Nick Heidfeld, Lotus Renault GP)

Qualifying Kings

To date, the team has claimed pole position at the Sepang circuit on three occasions, with Fernando Alonso (Renault, 2003 / 2005) and Giancarlo Fisichella (Renault, 2006)

Fast Flyers

The team has also set the fastest lap in Malaysia on one occasion, with Fernando Alonso (Renault, 2006) posting a time of 1:34.803

Kimi’s Credentials

The Sepang circuit is one Kimi knows well, having won here twice in 2003 and 2008 – the first of these marking his maiden Grand Prix victory

Romain’s Record

Romain also has a strong record at the Kuala Lumpur venue, having finished 2nd in the 2008 GP2 Asia Series feature race here.

Fonte: Lotus

Kimi Brasil 2015. Tecnologia do Blogger.